Administrative divisions


  Wendeng district has jurisdiction over two provincial level economic development zones, three sub-district offices, 12 towns and Bukou port administrative committee, 763 villages, 684 villagers committee, 79 community residents committees.
   From Yuan dynasty to 1923, Du-Li system.
   In 1734 (Qing dynasty), before Rongcheng county was established, Wendeng county covered 7 du and 69 li; after Rongcheng county was established, Wendeng county covered 6 du, 50 li and 1318 villages.
   In 1898, UK occupied 345 villages of Weihaiwei, Wendeng only covered 5 du, 973 villages.
   In 1924, changed du into district.
   In 1930, five districts, 28 towns, 1047 villages.
   In 1936, five districts, 44 towns.
   In June 1940, the Anti Japanese democratic government fourth district, in the eastern part of the Sixth District, the county has 6 districts and 41 towns. In December of the same year, cancel the township.
   In February 1941, the County has 8 districts, 61 towns.In December of the same year canceled again Xiang, Wendeng County has 1 town, districts, 321 administrative villages; Wen Xi county has 13 districts, 253 administrative villages.
   At the beginning of 1952, Wendeng County has 15 districts, 158 towns; Kunyu County has 15 districts, 137 towns.
   In December 1956, after the merger of the Wendeng County, it has 64 districts and 10 towns.
   In September 1958, the county set up 21 people's commune.    In July 1959, the abolition of the town unit.
   After several changes, in April 1966, the county has jurisdiction over 941 people's communes, 23 production brigade, and 4380 production teams.
   In 1982,Wencheng people's commune was changed into Chengguan town. In March 1984, the original 23 communes were converted into 9 towns, 14 townships, a total of 952 villages.
   In March 1989, Caomiaozi, Houjia, Xiaoguan, Jieshi, Shaizi, Manshan, Puji, and Mishan town township changed into town, the city's 23 towns, 952 villages.
   In May 1992, Zeku, Kouzi, Zhangjiachan, Tianfushan township changed into town.
   In Aug 1992, Economic and Technology Development Zone was established.
   In October 1993, Wendengying, Huanglan township change into town, Huanglan changed its name to Beijiao. So far, the city has 1 district, 23 towns and 952 villages.
   In June 1994, Caomiaozi, Chucun town became part of Huancui District, Wendeng has 1 district, 23 towns and 952 villages.In September the same year, the economic and technology D`evelopment Zone¨s 13 villages were changed into residential area, the city has 1 district, 21 towns, 13 residential areas, and 859 villages.
   In August 13, 1998, 31 village committees changed into residential committees. The city has 1 district, 21 towns, 44 residential areas, 828 villages.
   In May 2001, the town carried out administrative division adjustment. Cancelled Wencheng town, set up three sub-district offices of Longshan Road, Tianfu Road, Huanshan Road; revocation of the northern suburbs, Shaizi town, Puji, Tainfushan, Kouzi, Bukou, they were Manshan, Jieshi, Gejia, Wendengying, Dashuipo, Zhangjiachan. The Economic and Technology Development Zone was under the jurisdiction of the Shuanglong sub-district offices, and it was renamed economic and technological development zone office; the original 44 residents neighborhood committees were changed into community residential committee; increaseFenghuangtai, Hengshan, Grand View Garden, Wulong, Xihao, Shuangqiao, Beishan, Dexian, Xiangshan, Xufu, Fengshan, Qishan, Taoyuan, Wenquan, Wen Xing, Pashan, Xiushan, Baoshan, Nanshan, totaling 19 community residential committees. Wendeng city included 1 district, 4 sub-district offices, 14 towns, 63 communities, and 828 villages.
   In July 2002, the Shuanglong community was established. In February 2003, revocation of Economic Development Zone, Shuanglong and other 14 communities were subordinate to the economic development zone; in April, revocation of the Fenghuangtai community, set up west Fenghuangtai community, subordinate to Longshanlu sub-district office, set up Xuangkuang village Wendengying town, subordinate to economic development zone; in July, after approval of provincial government, the Beidoubu and Wangbuzhuang village were incorporated into Longshanlu sub-district office. In Feb 2005, Bukougang management committee was independent from Zhangjiachan town, has jurisdiction over 8 villages, and 1 community committee. In October, Liujiazhuang, Danbaochan, Baiguoshu and Zhimaling, totaling 4 villages are subordinate to economic development zone. In 2006, Jinlingtun village of Longshan office was incorporated into Xilou community, economic development zone and 16 villages of three street offices were changed into communities subsequently. By then, Wendeng city has 1 economic development zone, three sub-district offices, 14 towns and Bukou port, totaling 81 communities and 811 villages.
   In June 2009, the scale of the urban community residents' committees was adjusted; the original 21 urban community residents' committees were adjusted to 10, and in the economic development zone, it set up new Jinshan community neighborhood committee. In August 2009, Dashuibo Jingnan village was renamed Hebei new village. In November, Longshan subdistrict offices Xilou community neighborhood committees and Duanjiatuan were merged, the whole system was incorporated into Xilou community neighborhood committee; Tianfu sub-district office Hebei community and south Panjiakuang village were merged, revocation of south Panjiakuang village, the entire systemwas incorporated into the Hebei community neighborhood committees. As of the end of the year, the city has a total of 886 villages, of which 808 were formed in the village, 78 community committees.
   In September 2010, in Tianfu Street office, it set up Haitai community residents' committee; in November, in Tianfu Street office it set up Xincheng community residents committee, in Wendengying town, it set up Dongcheng community residents' committee. Until the end of the year, the city's a total of 889 villages, including 808 administrative villages, 81 community residents committees.
   On 25 January 2014, the State Council (No.13 document in year of 2014 )approved Weihai City to have administrative region adjustment. On February 27, Shandong Provincial People's government agreed by document of Lu Zheng [2014] No. 48 paper, revocation of Wendeng City, Wendeng, Weihai City, and set up Weihai City Wendeng District, based on the original Wendeng city (Excluding Manshan town, Wangtan town). The Manshan town, Wangtan town were incorporated into Huancui district, Weihai city. On Mar 18, 2014, Weihai city Wendeng district held the inaugural meeting. At this point, the Wendeng district has jurisdiction over 2 provincial Economic Development Zones, 3sub-district offices, 12 towns and Buou port management committee, a total of 763 villages, 684 village committees, and 79 community residents committees.